For Schools

Projects + Resources for Schools

Professional Development

Resources

Schools Coordinator & Support

Schools Network

Out on the shelves

national Schools pride week

Professional Development

Ensuring that school staff have the knowledge, skills and confidence to support rainbow students is key to creating a rainbow inclusive school. InsideOUT can provide staff professional development workshops for schools of all levels, both to the whole staff and more specific professional development for staff groups such as counselling staff or health departments. 

We can work with your school to provide workshops and training with a range of durations and maybe be able to provide multiple shorter sessions to fit in with your schedule. InsideOUT has worked with many different schools including faith-based and other special character schools and we are able to work with you to provide professional development that works within your school’s context.

To book InsideOUT for a professional development workshop for your school, please email your local schools coordinator.

Resources

InsideOUT has developed a range of resources for schools that can be downloaded digitally or ordered as physical copies. Visit our resource page for more details.

Creating Rainbow-Inclusive School Policies and Procedures
– Available to preorder

Making Schools Safer for Trans, Gender Diverse and Intersex Students
– Available to preorder

Staff Supporting Rainbow Diversity Groups
– Available to preorder

Starting and Strengthening Rainbow Diversity Groups (PDF)

Join This Chariot: Christian Schools Supporting Rainbow Students’ Wellbeing (PDF)

Supporting Aotearoa’s Rainbow People – A Practical Guide for Mental Health Professionals (PDF)

Pōwhiri Guidebook (PDF)

Legal Rights at School (PDF)
– Update Coming Soon

Rainbow Terminology (PDF)

Rainbow Resource List for Schools (PDF)

Rainbow-Inclusive Curriculum Ideas (PDF)

You can download our resources for free here.

You can order hard copies here.

Schools Coordinators & Support

Our regional schools coordinators are here to support rainbow young people and their schools. Schools Coordinators are available to work alongside your school and are able to provide professional development and workshops, guidance on inclusion within your school, as well as help and support with projects and other activities such as setting up or strengthening QSAs (Queer-Straight Alliances) or Rainbow Diversity Groups. Our Schools Coordinators also run regular Q’D-UP meetings where QSA members or leaders from different schools in their regions can connect and access peer support and guidance. Find out next dates on our events page or by subscribing to our newsletter.

Northland / Te Tai Tokerau: Kirsty –  kirsty@insideout.org.nz
Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau: Grace –  grace@insideout.org.nz
Bay of Plenty: Ben –  ben@insideout.org.nz
Waikato: Ebbieebbie@insideout.org.nz
Taranaki:
Dando –  dando@insideout.org.nz
Hawkes Bay / Te Matau-a-Māui:
Kirstie – kirstie@insideout.org.nz
Whanganui: Taylor – taylor@insideout.org.nz
Manawatū:
Aroha –  aroha@insideout.org.nz
Wellington and Wairarapa / Te Ūpoko o te Ika: Compass – compass@insideout.org.nz

Nelson, Tasman, Marlborough / Te Tau Ihu o te Waka a Māui: Zen –  zen@insideout.org.nz
Canterbury / Waitaha: Rose –  rose@insideout.org.nz
West Coast / Te Tai Poutini: Suzy – suzy@insideout.org.nz
Otago:
Trish –
trish@insideout.org.nz
Southland/Murihiku: Emma –  emma@insideout.org.nz

For all other areas, get in touch with our School Services Manager: Petazae –petazae@insideout.org.nz

Schools Network

InsideOUT’s Schools Network helps the staff and students involved with running QSAs and rainbow diversity groups to connect with each other, find out about upcoming events and access support and resources.

You can register your group here.

Out on the Shelves

Out on the Shelves is an online resource that lists books with rainbow themes and characters, with the aim of supporting rainbow young people to find stories that represent their identities in positive and affirming ways.

Out on the Shelves is also an opportunity to create more visibility in our school and community libraries! Our campaign week in June is a chance for libraries to promote and build their rainbow collections, celebrate these stories and help connect rainbow young people with their stories and with each other.

Learn more and get involved at www.outontheshelves.www.insideout.org.nz

Schools Pride Week

InsideOUT is planning a National Schools PRIDE Week for 2021! This will be an opportunity for schools to celebrate and support their rainbow communities, in whatever way works best for their school. 

PRIDE Week: Monday 13th June – Friday 17th June 2022

To keep up to date with this event, sign up to our mailing list (make sure you tick ‘updates about events’), or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. You can register to take part here.

You can learn more at our National Schools Pride Week website or email pride@insideout.org.nz with any queries.

Day of Silence

Day of Silence is a day of action in which students across the country vow to take a form of silence to call attention to the silencing effect of homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying, name-calling and harassment in schools.

Day of Silence 2022 will be held on Friday 10 June, though your school may choose to take part any time. Following on from this year’s Day of Silence is Schools Pride Week, a perfect way for your school to break the silence! Schools may participate in one or both campaigns.

Head over to our Day of Silence website to get involved in the campaign! Here you can find resources, posters, the sign-up form, a gallery of selfies for silence, faq and everything else you need to get involved!